The National Association of Wheat Growers Foundation was established in 1978 to foster charitable, scientific and educational programs which could provide lasting benefits not only for the wheat industry, but also for associated industries, consumers and the general public.

The Foundation is responsible for creating and conducting projects and programs which help ensure a solid source of information, security and opportunity for the U.S. wheat industry and its many components. In 1977, the Foundation purchased a building on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., which currently houses the National Association of Wheat Growers and three other tenants.

The Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of one representative from each wheat state affiliated with the National Association of Wheat Growers, two representatives from U.S. Wheat Associates and the members of the Foundation Development Committee. The officers of the Board – who are elected annually – are the president, first vice president, second vice president, secretary-treasurer and immediate past president. Members of the board represent major wheat growing regions throughout the United States.

The Foundation is empowered to promote and encourage by means of scientific investigations, research and other efforts:

  • the advancement of the science of wheat growing;
  • the conservation of the natural resources through the development of good farming and farm marketing practices;
  • the development of new uses and markets for and improved strains of wheat and wheat products;
  • the dissemination of educational materials and through a broad range of educational methods and media;
  • the carrying out of educational programs aimed at improving the skills of persons engaged in the growing and marketing of wheat in the U.S.;
  • improving the economic and nutritional well-being of consumers.