McReynolds Elected NAWG President at 2010 Commodity Classic

March 6, 2010 Bookmark and Share

From Commodity Classic (Anaheim, Calif.) – Kansas wheat producer Jerry McReynolds was elected president of the National Association of Wheat Growers at the organization’s Board of Directors meeting Saturday.

McReynolds is from Woodston, Kan., where he produces primarily wheat and sorghum. He also operates a commercial cow herd, including backgrounding and finishing.

Before becoming a NAWG officer, he served as chairman of NAWG’s environmental policy committee and on NAWG’s domestic policy, nominating and budget committees, as well as on the NAWG/U.S. Wheat Associates Joint Biotechnology Committee.

McReynolds has also held several leadership positions in Kansas, with the Kansas Association of Wheat Growers, the Kansas Farm Bureau and many other public service boards and committees looking at local conservation and extension issues. He holds a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics from Kansas State University.

Other members of the 2010 NAWG officer corps elected at Saturday’s meeting include:

  • Wayne Hurst, Burley, Idaho, first vice president;
  • Erik Younggren, Hallock, Minn., second vice president;
  • Bing Von Bergen, Moccasin, Mont., secretary-treasurer; and
  • Karl Scronce, Klamath Falls, Ore., immediate past president.

NAWG officers typically “run the chairs” for five years after being selected as secretary-treasurer, though they all must be interviewed and recommended by the NAWG Nominating Committee and approved by the NAWG Board of Directors on an annual basis.

The NAWG Board meeting was held at the end of the 2010 Commodity Classic, held in Anaheim, Calif. For more about wheat activities during the 2010 event, please visit

Bios and photos for all NAWG officers are at