Wheat Producers’ Voices Heard at Farm Bill Field Hearings

May 7, 2010 Bookmark and Share

Two wheat producers from NAWG-affiliated state associations were among those testifying before the House Agriculture Committee this week at the first round of field hearings of the 2012 Farm Bill debate.

Members of the Committee began last week a two-part series of field hearings, with the first leg of the tour concluding Tuesday in Cheyenne, Wyo. Representatives are seeking to hear directly from stakeholders in the countryside about how they feel the 2008 Farm Bill has worked and what should be looked at as the 2012 process begins.

Scott Brown, a wheat and barley producer from Soda Springs, Idaho, represented the Idaho Grain Producers Association at a hearing in Nampa, Idaho, focusing his comments on farm bill baseline and budget considerations, existing farm programs, crop insurance and conservation.

Jerry Cooksey, a producer from Roggen, Colo., testified on behalf of the Colorado Association of Wheat Growers at a hearing in Cheyenne, Wyo. He spoke on a variety of topics including the goals of federal farm policy, the importance of crop insurance and the need for a robust trade agenda.

Complete copies of their testimony, along with that of other invited witnesses, can be found on the House Agriculture Committee website at http://agriculture.house.gov/hearings/statements.html.

Committee Members will hit the road again beginning Friday, May 14, stopping in Sioux Falls, S.D., on Tuesday, May 18, where South Dakota Wheat, Inc.’s president, producer Steve Masat, will testify.

For those who cannot attend the hearings in person, the House Agriculture Committee plans to provide live video coverage of each hearing on the Committee’s website, accessible at http://agriculture.house.gov/hearings/audio.html.

The latest scheduling information is at http://agriculture.house.gov/hearings/schedule.html.

The Committee is also collecting public comments to be inserted into the field hearing record via http://agriculture.house.gov/inside/feedbackform.html.  The deadline for comments is June 14.