Media Advisory: USDA, Leaders of National Farm Groups to Discuss Importance of TPP in Kansas City

Representatives from six national farm groups will join U.S. Department of Agriculture Foreign Agricultural Service Administrator Phil Karsting in Kansas City Wednesday for a press event to discuss the implications of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) for American agriculture. The event will feature farmer leaders from the American Soybean Association, National Pork Producers Council, National Corn Growers Association, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, U.S. Grains Council and National Association of Wheat Growers, exploring the importance of the TPP for their individual industry sectors. The event is open press and will be held at 5:00 p.m. CST in the Liberty Room at the Westin Crown Center hotel.

WHAT:
Agriculture and the Trans-Pacific Partnership — USDA and six of the nation’s leading agricultural organizations discuss the TPP and what it means for American farmers.

WHO:
Phil Karsting, Administrator, Foreign Agricultural Service, USDA
Wade Cowan, President, American Soybean Association
John Weber, President-Elect, National Pork Producers Association
Chip Bowling, Chairman, National Corn Growers Association
Bob McCan, Immediate Past President, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association
Alan Tiemann, Chairman, U.S. Grains Council
Brett Blankenship, President, National Association of Wheat Growers

WHEN:
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. CST

WHERE:
Westin Crown Center Hotel
Liberty Room
1 East Pershing Road
Kansas City, MO 64108

Conference Line: 866-740-1260 Passcode: 5459166#

Media Contacts:
Kayla McKee, NAWG,612-554-6478, kmckee@wheatworld.org
Ellen Dougherty, USDA-FAS, 202-684-5461, ellen.dougherty@fas.usda.gov
Patrick Delaney, ASA, 410-903-7002, pdelaney@soy.org
Dave Warner, NPPC, 202-641-7559, warnerd@nppc.org
Jennifer Myers, NCGA,202-286-5529, myers@dc.ncga.com
Chase Adams, NCBA, 202-815-1411, cadams@beef.org
Melissa Kessler, USGC, 202-492-3433, mkessler@grains.org