PRESS RELEASE: NAWG and the National Wheat Foundation Name New Board Officers at the 2020 Commodity Classic

Contact: Caitlin Eannello, 202.547.7800

NAWG and the National Wheat Foundation Name New Board Officers at the 2020 Commodity Classic

San Antonio, TX (February 27, 2020) – The National Association of Wheat Growers and the National Wheat Foundation wrapped up the 2020 Commodity Classic with a new slate of officers.

NAWG President and Lavon, Texas farmer Ben Scholz has passed the gavel down to Vice President Dave Milligan, a farmer from Michigan. Washington farmer Nicole Berg moved up the ranks of leadership becoming NAWG’s new Vice President. Brent Cheyne, wheat farmer from Klamath Falls, Oregon becomes NAWG’s new Treasurer. Oklahoma wheat farmer Keeff Felty will serve as NAWG’s new Secretary. Ben Scholz will continue to serve on the executive committee in the role of Past President.

“Ben’s tenure as President will have a lasting mark on the Association and we appreciate all of the hard work that he did to lead NAWG during the past fiscal year which had a heavy trade agenda,” stated NAWG CEO and NWF Executive Director Chandler Goule. “We are excited for Dave Milligan to take over as NAWG’s next President. Dave is the first wheat farmer from Michigan to be elected to this post.”

Additionally, the National Wheat Foundation will welcome Texas wheat farmer David Cleavinger as its new Chairman. David Cleavinger is a fifth-generation Texas farmer/rancher operating his 3,500-acre irrigated family farm and ranch in Wildorado, Texas. The Foundation also nominated Gary Broyles from Rapelje, MT to its Board.

“NWF also appreciates Idaho wheat farmer Wayne Hurst’s time as Board Chairman, and congratulates David Cleavinger on his new role as Chairman,” continued Goule. “We also welcome Montana wheat grower Gary Broyles to the Board, and know that he will be a great addition and help the Foundation grow.”

For more information, visit the National Association of Wheat Growers and the National Wheat Foundation’s site.


About NAWG
NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national levels. From their offices in the Wheat Growers Building on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members, Administration officials and the public.

About The Foundation
The National Wheat Foundation was established by the industry to serve as the national center for wheat research, education and outreach. Serving our mission, the Foundation works to advance the wheat industry through strategic research, education and outreach collaborations, guided by core values of grower centeredness, integrity, honesty and trustworthiness. The Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization incorporated and headquartered in Washington, D.C., governed by a nine-member Board of Directors and managed by staff of the National Association of Wheat Growers, the Foundation’s sole member.